indigo-v3.png

Here is a description of your company. Lorem ipsum dolor sit amet, consectetur adipiscing elit. Ut dapibus, felis id malesuada blandit, turpis lacus vehicula risus, quis rhoncus libero.


Rory’s Racing Preview: 21/07/2017 and 22/07/2017

Rory’s Racing Preview: 21/07/2017 and 22/07/2017

Another weekend and another plethora of punting opportunities to be had. I’m going for selections on both Friday and Saturday. We have hit the post on numerous occasions so far but I return with my confidence levels still intact ready to get the winners.

Drop in class could hold the key for Yalta

Last week I put up Yalta to win at Ascot, sadly he was withdrawn on the day of the race but he is now down to run in the 7.10 at Newmarket on Friday and I am going to be backing him again. Whilst the horse has not displayed a great level of form on the face of it he has been running in top class races. He is priced up at 9/2 with most firms and I’m very happy to back him at this price.

Last time out he competed in the Group One Commonwealth Cup and that was over six furlongs. A drop back to five should be ideal with his best performance coming at this trip. That was in the Molecomb at Goodwood last year. He is given a significant drop in class on Friday and I’m hoping this can pay off.

On his reappearance this season he was only four and a half lengths behind Blue Point and three lengths behind Harry Angel. This just shows the level of talent this horse possesses and that was over what I believe to be a furlong too far for him. 9/2 represents a very fair price and should hopefully get our weekends off to the perfect start.

Plenty more expected of unexposed Best Of Days

We now move onto Saturday’s racing and start with the 2.25 at Newbury. My selection is Best Of Days for Hugo Palmer. He is available at 5/1 with William Hill and 9/2 across most other firms. I think this horse could have plenty more to offer on what will be just his fifth career start. Whilst he did flop on his return as a three-year-old I expect much better on Saturday.

He is now dropped back to 10f from 12f and this could prove to be his optimum trip. He was a Group Two winner as a two-year-old over a mile. If he progresses from his two-year-old form after his first run this season then he could take some beating. Also he is carrying bottom weight with the three-year-old allowance and running without the penalties that his rivals have. This could be key for him on Saturday.

Memory could have too much Magic for his rivals in Newbury 3.00

My next selection on Saturday is Magical Memory for Frankie Dettori and Charlie Hills. This horse could prove a cut above his rivals in this Group Three contest. He has been highly tried at Group One level over the past couple of seasons and this represents calmer waters.

William Hill go a standout 100/30 and that could be good value for this horse. He could well have too much class for his rivals on Saturday. He won last time out in a fairly weak race but that should prove a welcome confidence booster. He was second in a York Group Two earlier in the season and still looks to have plenty of ability despite his poor performance in the Group One Diamond Jubilee at Royal Ascot.

If he is anywhere near his best on Saturday he could be far too good for his opposition. He was a Group Two winner last year and a run to near that level of form should be enough on Saturday.

To summarise -

Friday Newmarket 7.10 – Yalta 9/2

Saturday Newbury 2.25 – Best Of Days 5/1

Saturday Newbury 3.00 – Magical Memory 100/30

Rory's Racing Preview: 29/07/2017

Rory's Racing Preview: 29/07/2017

Rory's Racing Preview 14/07/2017 to 15/07/2017

Rory's Racing Preview 14/07/2017 to 15/07/2017