Rory's Racing Preview 14/07/2017 to 15/07/2017

Rory's Racing Preview 14/07/2017 to 15/07/2017

By Rory Ford

A slight change to normal proceedings this week, I am going to take a brief look at Friday and also give a couple on Saturday. Newmarket’s July Festival continues on Friday whilst Saturday sees good cards both at Ascot and York.

Falmouth contender looking to make up for lost time

Wuheida is due to make her seasonal reappearance in the Falmouth Stakes at Newmarket on Friday and I am very excited to see this daughter of Dubawi in action once again. She has been side-lined for the first part of the season through injury but could claim some major compensation in this Group One contest.

She comes into this race with an unbeaten record of two starts and two victories. Whilst she will have to progress this season as a three-year-old this is one of the weaker Group One’s you will see this season. She has already recorded a Group One success at two in the Prix Marcel Boussac and the form of that race is working out very well. Back in fourth was this year’s Prix de Diane (French Oaks) winner and several other horses have good form lines.

An obvious concern would be the fact Wuheida is returning from injury but Charlie Appleby is brilliant at getting horses back from injury for the big day. For example, Rare Rhythm returned from a year off the track to land a victory at Royal Ascot just last month.

I think the odds of 7/2 currently available could be great value!

Drop into a handicap could hold the key for Yalta

The totescoop6 Heritage Handicap at Ascot on Saturday over five furlongs will be one of the most open races of the whole card but I think Yalta could be the value at a top priced 16/1. I am recommending an each way bet on this selection. Whilst the horse has not displayed a great level of form on the face of it he has been running in top class races.

Last time out he competed in the Group One Commonwealth Cup and that was over six furlongs. A drop back to five should be ideal with his best performance coming at this trip. That was in the Molecomb at Goodwood last year. He runs on Saturday off a mark of 105 but has recorded a career high of 111 which is testament to the races he has been tried in to this point.

On his reappearance this season he was only four and a half lengths behind Blue Point and three lengths behind Harry Angel. This just shows the level of talent this horse possesses and that was over what I believe to be a furlong too far for him. If he can get some luck in the 20 runner handicap I’m sure he is overpriced at 16/1. Make sure to check bookies concessions and take advantage if any firms offer more than four places.

William Haggas could be set for John Smith’s Cup Victory

York hosts the John Smith’s Cup on Saturday over one mile and two furlongs. There are plenty of unexposed types in the race but I fancy Victory Bond for William Haggas. I feel this horse could have been targeted at this race for some time. Possibly even since he made his reappearance at York earlier this season with a third in an ultra competitive handicap. That course form is also shown with his extremely respectable sixth in last season’s Dante.

He is one of the more unexposed horses in the field with just five runs under his belt. I think he could be set for more improvement on Saturday and could take some stopping. He is currently trading at the 8/1 mark with most firms which is a fair price. Another major positive for this horse is the current form of his trainer. William Haggas is currently operating around the 30% mark for the last two weeks which is very good. Let’s hope this continues with my selection on Saturday.

In summary:

Newmarket Friday 3.35 – Wuheida

Ascot Saturday 2.10 – Yalta E/W

York Saturday 3.05 – Victory Bond

Rory’s Racing Preview: 21/07/2017 and 22/07/2017

Rory’s Racing Preview: 21/07/2017 and 22/07/2017

Rory's Racing Preview 08/07/2017

Rory's Racing Preview 08/07/2017